Downtown Clayton Aerial Banner
Welcome the Town of Clayton, North Carolina

Join us for our 2017 Summer Reading Program which kicks off Thursday, June 15, at 6 p.m. and runs through Saturday, July 29. This Collaborative Summer Library Program is a statewide coordinated program that encourages all ages to continue to improve their reading skills during the months when school is not in session.The full scheduled will be available in early May. 2017 Slogan: Build a Better World!

 

Every summer the Clayton Library puts on elaborate programs for families, kids, teens and adults! The 2016 program ran through July 30.  We exercised our minds and bodies with this year's Wellness, Fitness & Sports theme. Thank you to all of our sponsors and great community partners!

Hocutt-Ellington Memorial Library participates in the Collaborative Summer Library Programs, a statewide coordinated program that began in the summer of 1980. It encourages all ages to continue to improve their reading skills during the months when school is not in session.

The 2016 themes encourage exercising the mind, wellness, fitness and sports!  There's something free to check out almost every day of the week!

♦ Children: On Your Mark, Get Set, Read  
♦ Teens: Get in the Game: Read  
♦ Adults: Exercise Your Mind – Read

Below is our 2016 Summer Reading Program schedule. Check back in early May for our 2017 schedule and update!

Saturday, June 11 Mr. Erik – Rock ‘n’ Roll Story Time 11AM - Outdoor Kickoff Event
Monday, June 13 Turning Pointe Dance Studio 10AM - Get Up And Move!
Monday, June 13 Adult Coloring Club 6PM –Get Down with Mandalas!
Tuesday, June 14 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –Get Up And Move!
Wednesday, June 15 M&M Dance Crew     10AM –Get Up And Move!
Thursday, June 16 Teen Game Night               4:30PM –Get In the Game!
Monday, June 20 Juice Vibes 10AM –Eating Healthy!
Monday, June 20 Monday Night Book Club       6PM: History of Love, Krauss
Tuesday, June 21 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –Eating Healthy!
Wednesday, June 22 Main St. Community Garden 10AM – 439 East Main Street
Thursday, June 23 Teen Game Night   4:30PM –Get in the Game!
Monday, June 27 Magician and Amazing Teacher, Steve Somers  10AM – Special Performance
Tuesday, June 28 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –For the Sport of It!
Wednesday, June 29 Muddy the Mudcat 10AM –For the Sport of It!
Thursday,  June 30 Teen Game Night   4:30PM –Get In the Game!
Saturday, July 2  FAMILY "BOARD" GAME DAY  10AM-1PM –Get In the Game!
Monday, July 4 LIBRARY IS CLOSED ...See You All At Municipal Park!
Tuesday, July 5 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –Fun & Games!
Wednesday,  July 6 LEGO PLAY DAY 10AM –Fun & Games!
Thursday, July 7 Brian Traugott, Red Storm Entertainment 4:30PM –Game Design!
Monday, July 11 Dr. Keats & Healthy Giraffe 10AM –Healthy Body & Mind!
Tuesday, July 12 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –Healthy Body & Mind!
Wednesday, July 13 Dr. Lloyd & Dancing Skeleton 10AM –Healthy Body & Mind!
Thursday, July 14  Teen Game Night 4:30PM –Get In the Game!
Monday, July 18  “Games We Used to Play” 10AM –Summer Olympics!
Monday, July 18 Monday Night Book Club 6PM: Same Kind of Different as Me
Tuesday, July 19 K-5 Story Time   4:30PM –Summer Olympics!
Wednesday, July 20 Clayton Community Center's Summer Olympics 10AM - 715 Amelia Church Road
Thursday, July 21 Teen Game Night 4:30PM –Get In the Game!
Monday, July 25 Kindermusik with Allison Antkowiak 10AM –Move to the Music!
Monday, July 25 Adult Coloring Club 6PM –Get Down with Mandalas!
Tuesday, July 26 K-5 Story Time 4:30PM –Move to the Music!
Wednesday, July 27 Belly Dancing with Samra 10AM –Move to the Music!
Thursday, July 28 Teen Poetry Slam: Games 4:30PM – OPEN MIC
Saturday, July 30 Premier Athletics 11AM –Outdoor Finale Event

…Be Sure to Checkout our STEAM kits in our MakerSpace in the meeting room
 

GOALS

  • To encourage and motivate children and families to read for pleasure
  • To help school age children maintain their reading skills while on school holiday
  • To introduce children and their families to the resources of their public library
  • To attract new customers to their library
  • To establish the library as a vital part of community life
  • To promote community involvement in the mission of the library
  • To create positive publicity for the library
  • To establish a partnership with the school community
  • To increase circulation of library material

If you're 13-18 years old, we’d love for you to volunteer for our Summer Reading Program where you might read to pre-school and elementary school children, help with special guests and assist with preparing and making fun crafts with the kids. Lots of fun!  Click here to find the library volunteer application form!

Latest News
Video Gallery
© Town of Clayton All Rights Reserved